Strawberry Goes Blonde

Welcome back! For more info on my hair dye journey, click here.
Pt. 1: Black / Pt. 2: Brunette / Pt. 3: Auburn / Pt. 4: Bright / Pt. 5: Blonde / Pt. 6: Back to Her Roots

There’s a reason I didn’t try blonde till the end. After trying every possible color out there, this was my last option. It was like facing an enemy. “But I started dyeing my hair to NOT be blonde!”

Me being me, I decided that if I was going to accept how light my natural hair had become, it had to be the most blonde ever. Let’s go white! I tried really hard to get snow-white hair, and honestly I do think I could have gotten there had I not been bleaching over hair that was dyed red before. It left me pretty brassy. I did eventually get to a baby blonde. I stayed this way quite a while.

(S200-4ide note: I got a crazy amount of male attention the second I went blonde. Cat-calls on the street and such. It was bizarre. I guess a lot of guys really do like blonde hair? Or they have certain ideas about them. Anyway.)

I learned that I am a warm-toned person for sure by doing this. I looked so sickly with silvery hair. Yuck. You can really see it in the photo wearing cool-toned blue eyeshadow. What a hot mess.

Now let me share how I reached this color! It will be much, much easier for a strawberry blonde or redhead to get to a pale blonde than a brunette. So if that’s something you want to achieve, woo-hoo for you! Be very careful with bleach. Very careful, okay?

I bleached my hair (using this) twice over the course of a month. It was brassy but I had to give it time to rest. Eventually, I bleached it a third time and got all the red out. Then I tried Manic Panic Virgin Snow Semi Permanent. Many bloggers have raved about it, but it didn’t quite get me where I wanted. I highly recommend trying it though, as it’s definitely more gentle than a toner.

A couple weeks after trying to make Manic Panic work, I turned to Wella Color Charm Toner in T18. This uses developer and is a harsher process. So again, be careful! This toner finally got me a silvery, pale blonde. Woo! Not. As I mentioned before, it was just awful with my skin tone. If you are a very warm-toned redhead like me, approach bleach with caution! If you love blonde, consider getting some subtle balayage highlights in your natural color.

I had to leave my hair alone after this. As much as I disliked it, I knew it needed to rest. Eventually, the toner faded and left me with a gentler blonde. I then used a very light mixture of conditioner and Adore Semi Permanent in Ginger (like, a teaspoon in half a bottle of conditioner) to add some warm tones back in. It was okay. I left it alone and focused on my next goal…let those roots grow in a bit, see what color they really are, and figure out what I wanted to do.

Read the last installment of this series here!

Join in the discussion!

