Quick Tutorial: Green Smokey Eyes for Redheads

GSE_intro.png

Here’s a quick photo tutorial on achieving a basic smokey eye, using green shades that are especially flattering to redheads!

I started by using a limited-edition palette that Sephora + Pantone put out a couple years ago. I used the shade Dew but any matte, off-white or cream-colored eyeshadow will do. I like this one because it’s smooth and creamy, not chalky, and fairly sheer. This makes it a perfect base. An alternative could be Makeup Geek Sand Dollar.

I start any smokey eye with the same step, every time: I use a medium-sized fluffy brush to apply MAC Soft Brown into my crease, then blend it softly upwards. I used to try to add a “blending” shade at the end, but it never worked out how I wanted it to. By applying it first, I get a much better result.

Next, I applied Stila Coco to deepen the crease. I didn’t blend this one up quite as much. This starts to create that smokey effect. Before applying my lid color, I primed with NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk. It’s a little sticky which was a perfect base for layering MAC Humid and Urban Decay Mildew. I used a pencil brush to put a little MAC Brun in the outer V. I highlighted with Urban Decay Polyester Bride.

The finishing touches were L’Oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner in Bronze, Maybelline Colossal Chaotic Mascara in Blackest Black, and Wet n Wild Color Icon Eyebrow Pencil in Ginger Roots. I used the pencil brush again to smudge Brun on the lower lash line.

 

IMG_0931

Hope you enjoyed! ❤

None of the products mentioned were sponsored or endorsed.

Join in the discussion!

