Review + Ingredients: Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation

review_CSwhipped

Revlon ColorStay Whipped Crème Makeup, Ivory in Ivory is a foundation that’s always in my makeup bag. Because I’m pale and have acne/acne scars, it can be hard to find a Holy Grail product. So I usually have at least 2 foundations that I know I like, and 1-2 that I’m trying out. While I could wish for something better than this, it does the job really well. Frankly, I’ll probably always wish for something better when it comes to foundation!

Highlights:

  • Fragrance-free
  • Whipped mousse texture
  • Jar packaging
  • Decent range of shades

Ivory is a great match for my skin. It doesn’t turn orange or yellow. It does lean a little pink, which is okay for me despite the fact that my skin is quite warm. I reach for this when my skin is dry and when I need more coverage. I do find it a bit sticky.

I’ve applied it with a brush, sponge, and my fingers. I wouldn’t recommend using your hands. It makes it stickier, and seems to wipe the foundation off, even when I’m just patting. This works best with a damp beauty blender. You can easily build coverage, so start with a light layer then add more as needed.

Depending on the weather, I alternate between this and the demi-matte version, Colorstay Foundation for Combination/Oily Skin. I use it in Ivory as well but that one is more yellow.

Here’s my skin before and after. I set the foundation with Maybelline Fit Me! Matte & Poreless Powder in Porcelain 110.

rev_beforeafter.jpg

Ingredients

Now, let’s briefly break down the ingredients! The higher on the list, the more of it there is. For those of you who like to learn about everything in your products, I hope this is helpful. A benefit of learning cosmetic ingredients is that you can easily spot what different benefits or downsides a product might have.

Some of the ingredients that caught my eye include orchid and white lily extract, silk, and glycerin.

  • Dimethicone – Silicone oil that creates smooth canvas
  • Isodecyl Neopentanoate – Emollient/skin conditioning
  • Water – Pretty obvious 😉
  • Isododecane – Solvent that helps foundation spread better
  • PEG/PPG 19/19 Dimethicone – Surfactants/emollients
  • Trisiloxane – Skin conditioning
  • Trimethylsioxysilicate – Binder (holds the ingredients together)
  • C 13 16 Isoparaffin – Keeps it from getting too thick
  • Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer – Helps it stay non-cakey
  • Boron Nitride – Oil-absorbing
  • Dimethicone/Bis Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer – Thickening/emollient
  • C10-13 Isoparaffin – Emollient
  • Glycerin – Humectant
  • Salicylic Acid – Beta hydroxy acid
  • Tocopherol – Vitamin E
  • Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract – Yerba Santa plant extract: moisturizing.
  • Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract – Orchid flower extract: skin conditioning.
  • Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract – White lily extract: emollient.
  • Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract – Anti-inflammtory, soothing.
  • Sodium Hyaluronate – Maintain and attract water to skin
  • Serica (Silk) – Smoothing, gives a nice slip to the product
  • Alumina – Anti-caking
  • Polyisobutene – Forms a “film”
  • Disteardimonium Hectorite – Clay mineral thickener
  • Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer – Also forms a film
  • Cyclodextrin – Stabilizer to preserve efficacy of ingredients
  • Ethylhexyl Palmitate – Conditioning/emollient
  • Silica – Thickener
  • Methicone – Creates film/barrier for makeup to stick to
  • Sodium Chloride – Affects feel and “flow” of makeup (i.e. the texture)
  • Sorbitan Sesquioleate – Emollient/soothing
  • Propylene Carbonate – Solvent
  • Triethoxycaprylylsilane – Silicone-based binder
  • Silica Silylate – Anti-caking; contributes to “soft focus” look on wrinkles/fine-lines
  • Silica Dimethyl Silylate – Anti-caking, increases slip
  • Tetrasodium EDTA –Preservative/prevents microbial growth
  • Phenoxyethanol – Preservative
  • Caprylyl Glycol – Preservative
  • 1, 2 Hexanediol – Preservative

May Contain:

  • Mica – Reflects light
  • Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Zinc Oxide – Natural sunscreens/color/texture

All in all, I give this foundation a 7 out of 10!

Join in the discussion!

