10 Unique Beauty Brands You Need to Check Out

unique_beautybrands

I’m always on the search for new brands of makeup that break the mold. Whether it’s vibrant colors, inventive products, or affordability that doesn’t sacrifice quality, I love to find something new. These are my current favorites. If you have any brands to recommend, please share them in the comments! A benefit of many of these is that they’re concerned with developing cruelty-free, vegan products. For those of you interested, I highly recommend the blog Logical Harmony to find more like this.

Sugarpill – I adore this brand! They’re known for their colorful, highly pigmented eyeshadows. If you enjoy trying out bold, editorial looks, this brand is a must. I mean, look at these gold eyelashes! Gorgeous. Plus they have tons of vegan options! General prices range from $13-18. 

Melt – This brand is legendary for their creamy, pigmented lipsticks. I came across them after noticing that tons of beauty gurus on Instagram were using them. They exemplify the sort of brands I love and seek out. Most products are vegan, gluten-free, and paraben-freeGeneral prices range from $20-50.

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics – Most makeup lovers are aware of OCC’s unique lip tar. Besides from the awesome color selection, the formula lasts and lasts. High quality glitter as well! 100% vegan and cruelty-free. General prices range from $13-30.

ColourPop – I can’t go on enough about ColourPop. Their Lippie Stix, matching lipliners, and eyeshadows are so awesome. The color range is fantastic. I absolutely love them. Additionally, the prices are so awesome for the quality you get. Is it weird that I love the spelling of colour over color? Most products are vegan and gluten-free. (They provide a handy list of the exceptions.) General prices range from $5-10.

Suva – This cosmetics line was developed by the beauty YouTuber Shaina Azad. (Check out her channel here.) She’s patented her own retractable brush case, which is pretty cool. Her brushes are top-notch, and I love her palettes. Their matte Hydra Liners are also high-quality with gorgeous colors, like this bubblegum pink. Cruelty-free status unknown. General prices range from $10-50.

 

BH Cosmetics – I saw countless YouTubers using BH’s palettes but I continually forgot to check them out. I finally did, and I’m so glad! I love that they are affordable. Their color range is beautiful, they provide some great dupes for high-end products, and their packaging is cute too! Has anyone tried them out? Tell me what you think! Cruelty-free status unknown. General prices range from $6-25.

I think my next purchase will be this adorable dupe for Urban Decay’s Naked 3 Palette! (Nude Rose 12 Color Eyeshadow Palette, $14)

Coastal Scents – This is another brand that I heard a lot about alongside BH. I then received a mini sample of one of their palettes in an ipsy bag, and I discovered why. (Check out my ipsy referral code!) These eyeshadow are so buttery and creamy. The color payoff is amazing. And again – crazy affordable. I’ve heard good things about their brushes and I’d like to try those eventually as well.

However, what I was most surprised by was their 88- and 120-color palettes. At first glance, they reminded me of those silly and cheap huge palettes you’d get as a 10 year old. So, I was pretty shocked at their fantastic reviews. Definitely worth a try. Cruelty-free status unknown. General prices range from $10-16.

Z Palette – This company manufactures a huge variety of sizes of empty magnetic palettes. It makes it so easy and simple to create custom palettes. They teach you how to depot everything from highlighters, blushes, eyeshadows, and more. I can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to purchasing one yet. It’s high up on my list, though! General prices range from $10-30.

Aromaleigh – I’ve saved two of my favorite brands for last! For years, I’ve been a fan of the mineral foundation concept. There was a lot I liked about bareminerals, probably the most famous one, but it has issues and limitations. The color range was so-so for a very pale person like myself. Not perfect but I was able to make the lightest shade work. It still wasn’t ideal. This brand has SO many shades (28!) that you’re bound to find a perfect match, plus you can buy several sample baggies to compare different shades. Vegan and cruelty-free. General prices range from $5-20.

Here’s something very cool they’re doing: promoting autism acceptance. Since I was a little girl, I’ve been inexplicably drawn to individuals who are on the autism spectrum. A few years ago, I worked with children on the spectrum, applying certain techniques to help them cope with the world – a world that isn’t really built for how they think and feel. Over time, however, I began to realize that they aren’t disabled, and this isn’t a disorder.

There’s a concept called neurodiversity. In very simple terms, it means that their brains simply work differently. They are not broken. For whatever reason, I love the way they think, and how they experience the world around them. Check out this very special collection promoting Autism Acceptance! It’s worth learning more about.

Meow Cosmetics – This is very much like Aromaleigh – a gentler formula of mineral foundation (no mica!) and an insane range of shades: 86! They also offer sample baggies so that you can find the perfect match. Their blushes are beautiful, too.  Cruelty-free status unknown. General prices range from $5-30. 

 

I’d love to hear from you guys about your favorite unique beauty brands! Please share.

Join in the discussion!

