Review: Maybelline Define-a-Brow Pencil in Dark Blonde

5 Minute Review + Swatches!

I was really excited to try this product, but I was pretty disappointed. I love the concept of it, which is similar to the NYX Micro Brow Pencil and the Anastasia Brow Wiz Pencil. I haven’t tried either of those yet, so I can’t compare them. However, I wasn’t impressed with the quality of this. It’s very hard and is a completely ash-based color. That will work great for blondes or very light brunettes. A redhead needs more warmth, though, so I wouldn’t recommend this for them. My search continues!

EDIT: Because I don’t like to waste products, I kept trying to see if I could make this work in some way. I’ve discovered that I do like it a bit! I use it very lightly on the tail of my eyebrows, as a softer pencil can smear and be too obvious. It only takes a moment and when blended with my usual eyebrow products (Wet N Wild Color Icon Eyebrow Pencil in Ginger Roots and Maybelline Eye Studio Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara in Auburn) it fits in quite nicely.

You can buy Maybelline Define-a-Brow Pencil at Amazon for $6.60. Check out a soft and natural eyebrow routine here.

img_2002img_2003img_2004img_2006

Join in the discussion!

