Featured Strawberry: Jasmine Brown

fsjasmine_header

Jasmine, like previous Featured Strawberries Mounia and Soteria, is a natural black redhead who breaks the stereotypical mold. She agreed to share her experiences and give us a little insight into herself!

Thank you for being this month’s Featured Strawberry! What’s it been like for you growing up?

I’m a natural black redhead which is unique to some. As a kid I didn’t think anything of it, but I noticed people would come up to me and say, “Is that your natural color?”. As an adult most people assume I dye it, but some know it’s natural. I think people think my hair isn’t natural because my eyebrows and eyelashes are black.

Are there any redheads in your family?

As of now I would say there are no redheads in my family that I know of. My dad was a redhead when he was little, but his hair is black now. I’m the youngest in the family and I’m the only one out of five kids that has red hair. Some of my brothers and sisters have a little bit of red in their hair mixed with brown. I find it kind of crazy being the last born and the only one with all red hair. I also have a twin sister but she does not have red hair. I did not have any negative experiences growing up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s great that you never had any negative experiences. I didn’t have any either, so it’s encouraging to know that there are plenty of people who like the unique shade of red hair!

Is there any particular makeup you like? What sort of goals do you have? I know you have some possible interest in modeling, and there are plenty of successful ginger models, such as my previous interviewee Cat Carney.

The only make up I wear is black eyeliner. I have considered modeling but it’s kind of hard to get into when you live in a small town. I would love to be a model one day but it’s hard not knowing where to begin. I’ve always wanted to model since I was young, and now. Many people have told me I should be a model, which inspired me even more, but as I said I live in a small town and I’ve only been to three states.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally, what are your five favorite things right now?

My five favorite things as of right now are:

  1. My two rabbits.
  2. Orange Gatorade.
  3. Sour Patch Kids.
  4. Nexxus hair products.
  5. And fishing.
Thanks again for taking time to talk with me! If you’re a reader who’d like to be featured, feel free to send me a message through the contact form!
Join in the discussion!

