Featured Strawberry: Hannah Sabus


This month’s Featured Strawberry is a small-town girl from Nebraska, Hannah Sabus. She describes herself a classic introvert who likes to curl up with some books and a cup of tea, but she’s always up for adventures around town with her friends. She loves her family, thrift store shopping (who doesn’t?), and has a green thumb. In her own words, “I’m only 18 so I have lots to learn, but I’m just trying to grow into the best version of me!”

Enjoy the interview, and take note of Hannah’s experience with henna, because there are many redheads out there interested!

I’m excited to have you as this month’s Featured Strawberry, Hannah! So the first question I usually ask: does red hair run in your family? 

Yes! On both sides actually. My mother was a curly redhead when she was young. My father’s father had red hair as well. So my parents were blessed with two redhead babies haha.

Have you ever been teased for it?

I actually don’t remember being teased about it at all. Expect for when South Park decided it would be nice to come out with an episode calling Ginger Kids DayWalkers…but that was thankfully very brief.

I’ve also never been teased so it restores some faith in humanity that not everyone wants to poke fun at redheads! 😛 Have you always liked your own hair or did it take time to appreciate your unique coloring?

I have always been celebrated for my red hair. Always been stopped in the streets and told how beautiful it was. So, in turn, I have always celebrated it right along with them – no reason not to!

Tell me about your experience with henna. Why did you decide to try it out? What was your hair like before, and what did you hope to accomplish with it?

I have been searching for ways to make my red hair more red for awhile now. I tried hibiscus tea soaks and color depositing treatments galore. Being a ginger is part of who I am so I never wish to give it up. (SR’s note: I felt exactly the same way and so many of us do!) Growing up my hair was always undeniably red. But my family and I have lived in Florida for ten years now, and this sun has given my red a blonde beating.

I was in denial for awhile that my locks had turned more blonde than red. I knew I wanted more of a strong red/ginger color rather than strawberry blonde. I was just so nervous to use anything permanent to disrupt my natural color.

My close friend actually sent me a brand of henna online that in the reviews natural redheads had used and loved. If anyone’s interested, I used the Hannah Natural brand. I researched a lot (came across your amazing blog series) and finally decided to take the plunge.

Was it easy to mix and apply? What recipe did you use?

I used 50/50 henna and cassia. I also added a half part sulfate-free conditioner to make it into a henna gloss. I just used hot water and lemon juice until the consistency was right. It was very easy to mix for me. You just have to make sure you get the lumps out. I applied it in the shower for easy cleanup. I also had a towel around my neck and used my fingers to work it in.

I would recommend gloves because it did stain my hands for a week or so. I put a shower cap on and kept it in for 2 hours. It wasn’t hard for me to rinse either. The henna smell did stay for a little over a week when I got my hair wet.

What do you think of the results? 

I absolutely love it!! It looks like my hair still, just enhanced. Brighter and better.

Would you do it again? Any tips for other natural redheads?

YES. I’m sad I didn’t do it earlier. I know how nerve-wracking it can be but I would recommend starting with a gloss like I did.

Red hair is much harder to dye than any other hair color so you do need something a little more powerful, yet gentle, to give you a good change like henna. I plan on doing another gloss treatment soon!

So, what are your favorite makeup products?

All my favorite beauty products come from my HowToBeARedhead subscription box!! I have so many but here are some of my favorites so far:

EyebrowsJust for Redheads Brow Stick in GingerAuburn, or for something more subtle the Damōne Roberts Eyebrow Pencil in Ginger.

Foundation: At the moment, I’m using Kat Von D Lock-It Foundation in Light 44. Their foundation has such a great range of colors and has amazing coverage!! My favorite powder for us pale ladies would have to be Amanda Blakley Mineral Powder in Light.

Concealer: Giella Custom Blend Cosmetics

Mascara: My favorite mascara would have to be Just for Redheads in Ginger Auburn.

Lips: My favorite everyday lipstick is Burt’s Bees Moisturizing Lipstick in Blush Basin.

And what are your 5 favorite things right now?

  1. Book: Taste in an Age of Endless Choice by Tom Vanderbilt.
  2. My favorite face oil is rosehip seed oil. Smells yummy and super moisturizing! (SR recommends Radha.)
  3. Favorite healthy snack, plantain chips!
  4. Weird but I’m in love with my new Dr. Bronner’s Lavender Hand Sanitizer hand sanitizer!
  5. Clothing item: overalls!!

Thank you to Hannah for taking the time to chat with me. I hope that reading someone else’s henna experience in addition to mine will help some of you out there! Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook and Instagram! ❤

2 thoughts on “Featured Strawberry: Hannah Sabus

Join in the discussion!

